a veggie a day

tasty ways to eat more vegetables

my mom’s Italian vegetable beef soup

Leave a comment

chunky Italian soup

This is one of my favorite dishes that my mom made growing up.

Ingredients:

1 pound of ground beef chuck.

1 standard size can of concentrated tomato soup

2 cans of Italian stewed tomatoes

4 carrots

1 zuccini

1/2 purple onion

1 standard size can of Italian green beans

1 standard size can of kidney beans

1/2 box of rotoni wheat noodles

2 tsp. basil

1 tsp. minced garlic

2 tsp. oregano

Instructions:

1. Cook the beef on the stove until there is no more pink.

2.  While the meat is cooking, chop up  half of the red onion.

3.  Drain the meat and add to a large pot.

4.  Add onion.

5.  Add to the pot the can of tomato soup, along with 4 cups of water.

6.  Turn the stove on medium so it starts to cook.

7.  Cut up the Italian stewed tomatoes into smaller pieces, and then add to the pot.

8.  Add basil, garlic and oregano.

9.  Add green beans, kidney beans and noodles to the pot.

10.  Chop up the carrots and zuccini and add to pot.

11.  Let simmer and serve when vegetables are cooked to the desired amount.  (The crunchier, the better!)

12.  Enjoy!

Author: iamelliemann

I don't know about you, but I definitely do NOT get the recommended 3-5 servings of vegetables a day. I'm trying to do better though! I created this site to help people like me find tasty ways to eat more vegetables. I'll be posting any new ideas that I come up with to squeeze a serving of vegetables into my diet. If you guys have any good vegetable-containing recipes, please send them my way! I would love to try them. You can just email me at iamelliemann@gmail.com. Thanks guys!! And good luck to you if, like me, you are trying to improve your veggie intake. If you are just looking for good recipes, I don't eat food unless it tastes good, so browse through and enjoy! The comment page is open for criticism and suggestions. Also, you can click on the link below to subscribe to my public posts on Facebook. I'll post some of new blog posts on there so you can stay updated with new recipes and dishes. https://www.facebook.com/iamelliemann

Leave a Reply

